First DUI Offense Attorneys in Colorado
Drivers in Colorado are prohibited from driving a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs or while the driver's ability is impaired by alcohol or drugs. With regard to alcohol-related offenses, a driver can be charged with a DWAI if their BAC exceeds 0.05 but is less than 0.08. A driver can be charged with a DUI if their BAC exceeded 0.08. A driver can also be charged with DWAI or DUI if law enforcement has probable cause to believe a person has driven while ability impaired or under the influence.
The criminal penalties for a first DUI or DWAI include:
- Jail time
- Public services
Wish to discuss your case? Call (720) 809-8310 for an initial consultation.
Understanding DUI Penalties in Colorado
Jail time may be reduced if the convicted driver agrees to participate in an alcohol treatment program. For a first DWAI conviction, jail time can range from 2 to 180 days; fines can range from $200 to $500; and the convicted driver may have to perform 24 to 48 hours of public service.
For a first DUI conviction, jail time can range from 5 days to one 1 year; fines can range from $600 to $1,000; and the convicted driver may have to perform between 48 and 96 hours of public service. In addition to the standard fines for DUI or DWAI violations, a convicted driver may have to pay court costs and other fees, charges, and penalties.
Administrative penalties may be imposed in addition to criminal penalties. A driver's license will be suspended for 9 months if they have a BAC test of at least 0.08. For a first DWAI, a driver's license will not be suspended, but 8 points will be added to the driver's record. For a first DUI, a driver's license will be suspended for 9 months and 12 points will be added to the driver's record. Our Colorado DUI lawyers at Jorgensen, Brownell & Pepin, P.C. can help defend you from DUI charges.
For skilled DUI defense,contact our firm as soon as possible.