Criminal Mischief Attorneys in Colorado
Colorado Criminal Mischief Lawyers
A person can be charged with criminal mischief when that person knowingly damages the property of someone else. The seriousness of a criminal mischief charge is based on the dollar amount of damage caused. Criminal mischief is a class 3 misdemeanor if the total damage to the property is less than $300. It is a class 2 misdemeanor if the damage is $300 or more but less than $750, and a class 1 misdemeanor when the damages is $750 or more but less than $1,000.
Accused? Call (720) 809-8310 for an initial consultation.
When Criminal Mischief Is a Felony
If the damage is more than $1,000, a person can be charged with a felony. If the damage is $1,000 or more but is less than $5,000, it is a class 6 felony. It is a class 5 felony if the damage is $5,000 or more but less than $20,000. When the damages is $20,000 or more, an individual can be charged with a class 4, 3, or 2 felony, depending on the total amount. Criminal mischief often arises in domestic disputes, and a domestic violence enhancer is often added to a criminal mischief charge resulting from a domestic dispute.
Take Immediate Legal Action! Contact Jorgensen, Brownell & Pepin, P.C.
Because criminal mischief is very fact-driven and often the result of an emotional confrontation, it is crucial to have an experience criminal defense attorney representing your interests and ensuring the facts of the case come to light. Our Colorado criminal defense attorneys at Jorgensen, Brownell & Pepin, P.C. have the experience and determination required to make sure your rights and interests are protected. We will do everything possible to secure a favorable case result, such as a dismissal or charge reduction.
For tough legal representation, get in touch with us as soon as possible.