Colorado Marijuana Crime Lawyers
Although use, possession, and growth of limited amounts of recreational marijuana is considered legal under Colorado law, there are many marijuana-related offenses that carry significant penalties. If facing a marijuana-related offense, turn to Jorgensen, Brownell & Pepin, P.C. for assistance. Time is of the essence.
For persons 21 years of age or older, possession of one ounce or less of marijuana is legal in the state of Colorado. Further, transferring or giving (without being paid) up to one ounce of marijuana to another individual 21 years of age or older carries no penalty. Possessing or transferring between 1 and 2 ounces is a Class 2 petty offense and carries up to a $100 fine and a court appearance is mandatory. Public use or display of less than two ounces is a Class 2 petty offense and punishable by up to 15 days in jail, up to a $100 fine, or both.
Possessing between 2 and 6 ounces is a Class 2 misdemeanor and is punishable by up to 1 year in jail, up to a $1,000 fine, or both. Possession of between 6 and 12 ounces is a Class 1 misdemeanor and punishable by up to 18 months in jail, up to a $10,000 fine, or both. Possession of more than 12 ounces of marijuana is a Class 6 felony and punishable by up to 1 to 1 ½ years in prison, up to a $100,000 fine, or both. Possession of 8 ounces of marijuana or more is considered possession with intent to distribute, and will enhance the sentence imposed.
Sale or Distribution
Again, transfer or giving 1 ounce or less to a person 21 years of age or older carries no penalty. However, generally, any sale or distribution of marijuana by an individual for compensation is a felony. Penalties range from 1 to 12 years in prison, between and up to $500,000 in fines, depending on the amount sold or distributed for compensation.
Colorado law allows persons 21 years of age or older to have up to 6 marijuana plants-with no more than 3 being mature-without penalty. Cultivation of 6 plants or fewer with more than 3 being mature is a Class 1 misdemeanor and is punishable by 6 to 18 months in jail and a fine between $500 and $5,000. Cultivation of more than 6 plants but less than 30 is a Class 5 felony and punishable by 1 to 3 years in prison and a fine between $1,000 and $100,000. Cultivation of 30 or more plants is a Class 4 felony punishable by 2 to 6 years in prison and a fine between $2,000 and $500,000.
Possession of marijuana paraphernalia is a Class 2 petty offense that carries a fine of up to $100. Because Colorado is one of few states that have legalized the use, possession, and cultivation of small amounts of marijuana, it is important to understand both your rights and the marijuana-related offenses that are imposed. Our Colorado marijuana crime defense lawyers at Jorgensen, Brownell & Pepin, P.C. have the defense experience and knowledge of marijuana-related laws necessary to vigorously defend any marijuana-related charge.
Criminal Defense Specialties
Get more information about our criminal defense representation
I would like to give a big thank you to Matthew Crowther and his paralegal, Nicolas Allen, for doing a great job on my case. They settled for more than I expected and were always available when I had questions. I would highly recommend them and would go back to them if needed. Thank you again.